You’re Only As Happy As Your Saddest Child


321_0 071-kbQPost-Edit-100

Her chin quivers as tears roll down her cheeks

I hold her in my arms and my heart further breaks

This pain I have caused by decisions I’ve made

Only further raises doubt and a guilt I can’t shake

 

“You’re only as happy as your saddest child”

Question after question–I answer them all

The long-term benefits she doesn’t quite get

Her poor young mind can’t process it yet

 

“You’ve come too far to give up now”

The mind knows logic, but the heart can’t tell

Look in her eyes and tell me what you feel

You’re confused too because the heart’s overwhelmed

Leave a Reply

