I Chose To Make Lemonade


lemons2

I was on my way to court yesterday when I received a call from my victim’s advocate stating that the domestic violence (DV) charge that had been filed against my ex had been dismissed. This was a half an hour before the trial was to even begin. She said it had been dropped without prejudice. Layman’s terms: The case was dismissed because of current divorce proceedings, and he can be recharged at any time within one year if he screws up. I was pissed to say the least! I continued my way to the court anyhow.

As I was heading into the courthouse, my ex walked outside to act like the childish, arrogant, SOB that he is. I’m quite sure he thought I knew nothing as I was headed inside the courthouse. He walked by me with a smug smile and says “Hi.” I just said “Hi” back and continued walking with my shoulders back and head held high.

I asked to speak to the prosecuting attorney once I was inside. My victim’s advocate came out and got me and took me back to the bailiff’s office where I then vented my frustrations on both of them. The attorney, apparently, was just filling in and following orders. The decision had obviously been made for some time prior to the hearing. I cried out of frustration, hurt, anger, and fear. I let them know that this was the second time I’d been to that court for DV and “the system” FAILS! I gathered myself before walking out because I’d be damned if I would give him the satisfaction of seeing me upset. He made sure to give me another smug-ass smile and then walked out only a few steps behind me as I left.

I followed my attorney’s instructions (I had him on the phone, too!) and immediately (per my attorney’s instructions) went to Wal-Mart to purchase a digital recorder. He seems pretty confident that he’ll screw up again, and it’s my job to get it recorded. Lo and behold, guess who comes strolling into the parking lot as I was walking in? You guessed it–the crazy, stalking ex. I got what I needed and got the hell out of there.

I made a couple more stops while in town–the courthouse (the other one) and to the Center for DV. I was hard pressed at filing for a Civil Protection Order (CPO). I started the paperwork and decided to just wait. I needed to wait to hear back from my attorney or his assistant and I also had bigger plans for the day. Regardless of the outcome of the DV case, I was determined to attend a job fair directly after. Yes–I was a mess, confused, and didn’t know what to do. However, I chose to continue with my plans instead of wallowing in self-pity and stressing over the unknown.

I am so glad that I went to that job fair! I dressed the part, played the part, and hid all my worries behind a bubbly personality and big smile. I spoke to quite a few employers in my profession and gave out most of my resumes. I had two employers tell me to call them and they would set me up with an interview! How great is that? For me, it was by far the best news of the day and quite possibly the best news I’ve heard in years. I’ve had so many doors slammed in my face, but I’m staying optimistic that one of these employers will actually give me the job that I so desperately seek and need. I also cannot forget the prayer that was said over me yesterday morning that I am truly thankful for.

*I was just stopped in the middle of that last sentence by a phone call. A phone call for an interview!!!! OMG–they called me first 😀

**Now I need to go shopping again for more interview/court clothes. Yay! [Btw, I know I sound like an over enthusiastic teenybopper, but right now I’m loving being happy!]

5 thoughts on “I Chose To Make Lemonade

  1. I am so sorry that the system failed again. I will be praying for you and your new job. I pray for God’s Hand of protection and His Divine Favor over you, my friend.

  2. My friend, can you send me your email please, because I wanted to send you some prayer points because I don’t want to send it through this medium as here is a public site. I am praying for you but I want to participate in the prayer as well.

Leave a Reply

